Being Part of the “Nerd Herd”

So, I actually looked it up.  There are several versions of nerd herd out there.

There is a tech support company at NerdHerd.com.  There is a book called Geektastic: Stories from the Nerd Herd (Black & Castellucci, 2010) that looks pretty good.  I found a take on it in the blogging world called Nerd Heard.  There is even a Nerd Herd group on Facebook with over 16 000 likes.

Why had I never heard this expression before?  I belong to the best nerd herds ever!!

Though http://www.urbandictionary.com had several definitions of nerd herd, I came up with this one:

nerd herd (n.): an intelligent, like-minded group of individuals who stick together because of common interest, ideas, and/or support

Admittedly, the members of my nerd herd aren’t always together at the same time.  But if they were, man, we’d have some serious fun!

Clayton, who decided he wanted to be a combine for Halloween this year.

Clayton, who decided he wanted to be a combine for Halloween this year.

Anthony, loving life while painting a bird house.

Anthony, loving life while painting a bird house.

The youngest members are my children, Clayton at age 10 and Anthony at age 7.  It is not uncommon for my 10-year-old’s conversations to start with, “Mom, have you read___?  You have GOT to read it!”, followed by a delightful conversation about the virtues of a great book.  My 7-year-old is constantly challenging me with fabulous questions and infinite curiousity, as in, “Let’s make up a cool craft, Mom… what would happen if… check out what I built… look what I just figured out…” Love it.  Love them!

Curtis and I at the Regina Home Show in March.  A great weekend get-away!

Curtis and I at the Regina Home Show in March. A great weekend get-away!

My husband and I have an exclusive nerd herd around farming and home building.  Well, not exclusive for him.  He talks to plenty of people about such things all the time.   But, he is definitely the lead nerd in our home building herd.  Love it.  Love him!

Next up are my students.  I am no longer teaching in one school specifically, but when I return to the school that I had taught at for the past seven years, the kids and I connect over a variety of topics, from books, to hunting, to classes, to movies – you name it. Love it.  Love them!

Meeting Richard Allington at the Saskatchewan Reading Conference 2014 in Saskatoon.

Meeting Richard Allington at the Saskatchewan Reading Conference 2014 in Saskatoon.

And there are my totally awesome colleagues.  Colleagues in the schools I work in, at my office, in my university classes, on Twitter (#myplnrocks), that I meet at conferences.  These are the major nerds in my professional nerd herd, the peeps who make me feel like I am part of something so much bigger than myself.  They support me, challenge me, cheer for me, and question me, and some I have never even met!  Love it.  Love them!

I am so very thankful for these guru groups or pensive posses or collaborative crowds (I could only think of alliterative words – rhyming would have taken me way too long, much like the delay between my blog posts).  Regardless, I couldn’t be happier to be a nerd, particularly when it means I get to spend time with such amazing people.

To you, unknown reader, welcome to the herd.

Leave a Reply

